Canada Grand Prix – First Practice Results: P5

| Source: | full report @ |

Paul di Resta put Force India on top of times in the opening practice session for the Canadian Grand Prix on Friday.

The Briton emerged fastest with a time of 1m21.020s after he benefited from a late yellow flag, as all drivers tried to set a time in the dry following a mostly wet session.

Di Resta set his fastest time using Pirelli’s medium tyres.

McLaren’s Jenson Button was second quickest, with Lotus driver Romain Grosjean in third and Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso in fourth. Kimi Raikkonen completed the top five in the second Lotus.

As the session entered the final 10 minutes, most drivers decided to go out on slicks as conditions continued to get better. Button, using the medium tyres, lapped in the 1m21s to jump to first position with five minutes left. Raikkonen then moved to second in the Lotus.

Pos Driver                Team                      Time      Gap      Laps
 1. Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes      1m21.020s            10
 2. Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes          1m21.108s  + 0.088s  20
 3. Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault             1m21.258s  + 0.238s  21
 4. Fernando Alonso       Ferrari                   1m21.308s  + 0.288s  16
 5. Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault             1m21.608s  + 0.588s  22
 6. Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari        1m22.068s  + 1.048s  18
 7. Nico Rosberg          Mercedes                  1m22.402s  + 1.382s  22
 8. Sergio Perez          McLaren-Mercedes          1m22.587s  + 1.567s  17
 9. Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault          1m23.047s  + 2.027s  26
10. Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault          1m23.131s  + 2.111s  16
11. Felipe Massa          Ferrari                   1m23.341s  + 2.321s  13
12. Valtteri Bottas       Williams-Renault          1m23.352s  + 2.332s  17
13. Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari        1m23.3e6s  + 2.366s  19
14. Adrian Sutil          Force India-Mercedes      1m23.417s  + 2.397s  19
15. Esteban Gutierrez     Sauber-Ferrari            1m23.957s  + 2.937s  33
16. Lewis Hamilton        Mercedes                  1m25.054s  + 4.034s  21
17. Nico Hulkenberg       Sauber-Ferrari            1m25.354s  + 4.334s  22
18. Giedo van der Garde   Caterham-Renault          1m25.753s  + 4.733s  21
19. Max Chilton           Marussia-Cosworth         1m25.821s  + 4.801s  19
20. Charles Pic           Caterham-Renault          1m27.143s  + 6.123s  20
21. Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault          1m27.522s  + 6.502s  11
22. Jules Bianchi         Marussia-Cosworth         1m29.306s  + 8.286s   8

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close